Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Cold Steeping Dark Grains  (Read 12224 times)

Offline fmader

• Senior Brewmaster
Cold Steeping Dark Grains
« on: December 17, 2012, 08:25:40 pm »
I am reletively new to the art of brewing. I started brewing extracts in April and graduated to brewing all grain in June. For my second all grain brew, I brewed a cherry stout. A buddy of mine, who is a brewer, suggested that I cold steep my roasted barley and chocolate malts for about 24 hours before brewing to eliminate a harsh bitter taste caused by mashing these grains. I did this and the beer turned out great. My girlfriend has finally developed a taste for a craft beer....Unfortunetely it is Founders Breakfast Stout. Yeah, she has nice...but expensive taste. I love the beer too, so I am going to try to brew a clone. This will be my second all grain stout. My question is...Is there a significant difference in cold steeping the dark grains and what the result would be if I mashed them with the rest of the grains? Or am I just wasting my time with the cold steep?

Thanks,

Frank
Frank

Offline dmtaylor

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
Re: Cold Steeping Dark Grains
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2012, 08:37:36 pm »
I think there is a difference between cold steeping and regular mashing.  A buddy of mine makes the best porters and stouts around and has several pounds of medals hanging from his neck to prove it, and he totally swears by the cold steeping method.  So if you want something smooth and plenty drinkable for your girlfriend, then by all means I think it is worth the extra effort.  Unless you secretly hate your girlfriend.   ;)
Dave

The world will become a much more pleasant place to live when each and every one of us realizes that we are all idiots.

Offline amh0001

• Cellarman
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2012, 08:48:25 pm »