Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Extract and DMS  (Read 19317 times)

Offline Gary Glass

• Brewer
Extract and DMS
« on: November 02, 2009, 09:53:15 am »
In the process of making malt extract, wort goes through a boiling process (albeit a low temp, low pressure boil) to remove water from the wort and concentrate it into extract.  Does that process drive off DMS in the resulting extact?  In other words, does extract need to be boiled the same as all-grain wort in order to avoid DMS in the finished beer?
« Last Edit: November 02, 2009, 10:00:51 am by garyg »
Gary Glass
Longmont, Colorado

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: Extract and DMS
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2009, 10:48:40 am »
That's a great question, Gary!  I have no absolute knowledge or evidence, but a SWAG would be that extract manufacturing removes the SMM, which is the precursor to DMS.  It sure would be great to have some real evidence, though.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline Kaiser

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Imperial Brewing Geek
    • braukaiser.com
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2009, 08:48:27 pm »