Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Two Brothers Christmas Brew Session  (Read 2638 times)

Offline Bret

• Assistant Brewer
Two Brothers Christmas Brew Session
« on: January 21, 2011, 03:30:02 pm »
My brother and I have been brewing for nearly 20 years, but we only did it together once--two beers we bottled together --The Brothers Black and Tan. Over the Christmas break, we decided to brew a big beer and age it until next Christmas.  The process was a lot of fun, and we had a good time coming up with our recipe and executing the brew day.  The beer is huge and fermenting nicely at his house in Maine.  It is the beer I am talking about in the thread about high gravity bottling in the kegging/bottling section.  Here's the recipe:

Double Trouble Triple
10 lb. Weyermann Pilsner Malt  (Germany)
1 lb. Honey Malt (Canada)
1 lb. 5° lv Crystal Malt
6.6 lbs. Briess Pilsner Light Malt Extract Syrup (2° lv) (US)
2 lbs. Belgian Light Candi Sugar (Belgium)
1 oz. Simcoe (12.2% aa — Boil 90 minutes) (US)
1 oz. Amarillo (8% aa — flavor, 15 minutes) (US)
1 oz. Saaz (4% aa — aroma) (CZ)
Wyeast 1388 Belgian Strong Ale

OG: 1.124 + 002 (taken at 77 F) = 1.126 = Wow!

After 11 days in primary, racked to secondary.  Starter culture of White Labs WLP P099 Super High Gravity Yeast added with two tablespoons of Yeast nutrient. My bro did this step after the initial fermentation stalled. This is by far the highest OG either of us has ever tried.  Try a project with a brew pal--it is so much easier to clean up!
Member #: 900000767

Offline Bret

• Assistant Brewer
Re: Two Brothers Christmas Brew Session
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2011, 11:14:05 am »
 ???

Offline tschmidlin

• I must live here
  • Redmond, WA
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2011, 12:27:30 pm »
Hi Bret, the recipe looks tasty.  I'm curious to hear how the mixture of amarillo and saaz turns out.