Support Small Brewers

The Brewers Association of Maryland has requested that beer enthusiasts take action to support legislation beneficial to the state’s small brewers and beer consumers.

Please read the following information provided by the Brewers Association of Maryland.


The Brewers Association of Maryland is asking for your help in supporting three bills that are the subject of committee hearings in the next couple of days.

On Friday afternoon, February 24, the Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee will hear Senate Bill 579 which creates a farm brewery license. Beer brewed under this new license would be required to contain agricultural ingredients grown on the farm and license holders would be able to offer samples of their beer and sell that beer into the distribution network, both in and out of state.

On Monday, February 27, the House Economic Matters Committee will consider House Bill 1126, which is identical to Senate Bill 579 above, and House Bill 1127 which allows a pub-brewery or a micro-brewery license holder to provide samples, operate a second location in the state and self-distribute their beer on a limited basis.

Please contact the following committee members as soon as possible and ask them to support the bills before their committees.

Let them know that these bills provide a real opportunity for Maryland’s small brewers to grow, to create more jobs in Maryland communities and to offer an increased variety of beers to consumers.

Supporting these bills supports Maryland small businesses, Maryland agriculture and tourism in the state.

Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee – Senate Bill 579

Chairwoman Joan Carter Conway joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us Senator James C. Rosapepe jim.rosapepe@senate.state.md.us Senator Karen S. Montgomery karen.montgomery@senate.state.md.us Senator Bill Ferguson bill.ferguson@senate.state.md.us Senator Bryan W. Simonaire bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us Senator Edward R. Reilly edward.reilly@senate.state.md.us Senator J. B. Jennings jb.jennings@senate.state.md.us Senator Joanne Claybon Benson joanne.benson@senate.state.md.us Senator Paul G. Pinsky paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us Senator Ron Young ronald.young@senate.state.md.us Senator Roy P. Dyson roy.dyson@senate.state.md.us House Economic Matters Committee, Alcoholic Beverages Subcommittee – House Bills 1126/1127

Chairman Charles Barkley Charles.Barkley@house.state.md.us Delegate Brian McHale Brian.McHale@house.state.md.us Delegate Dereck Davis Dereck.Davis@house.state.md.us Delegate Donna Stifler Donna.Stifler@house.state.md.us Delegate Hattie Harrison Hattie.Harrison@house.state.md.us Delegate Joseph Minnick Joseph.Minnick@house.state.md.us Delegate MaryAnn Love MaryAnn.Love@house.state.md.us Delegate Rick Impallaria Rick.Impallaria@house.state.md.us Delegate Warren Miller Warren.Miller@house.state.md.us

Thank you and cheers,

Mike Franklin, President Brewers Association of Maryland


Thanks for your support of Maryland’s small brewers.