Homebrewers Association | AHA Forum

General Category => Equipment and Software => Topic started by: brushvalleybrewer on August 21, 2010, 12:00:42 PM

Title: Where to run temperature probe?
Post by: brushvalleybrewer on August 21, 2010, 12:00:42 PM
I have a Johnson controller that I use to control a Fermwrap when my basement is cold in the winter. This summer has been so hot, I’m thinking of using it to control the fridge.

I understand you just “run the probe inside and plug the fridge into the controller.”

One question…

When they say, “run the probe inside” do I stick it between the door gasket and frame, or do I drill a hole through the thing?
Title: Re: Where to run temperature probe?
Post by: dhacker on August 21, 2010, 12:26:07 PM
If you've been using it for heating, you will have to switch it internally to cooling mode, otherwise it will never turn on!  ;)
Title: Re: Where to run temperature probe?
Post by: brushvalleybrewer on August 21, 2010, 12:33:45 PM
If you've been using it for heating, you will have to switch it internally to cooling mode, otherwise it will never turn on!  ;)

 :D

Yeah. There’s a little little shorting jumper inside. It was actually set for cooling when I got it, so I know how to do that. 8)

I’m actually worried that if I run the probe through the door it will mess up the gasket and the fridge won’t be efficient, but if I drill a hole through the fridge I’ll hit a cooling pipe and totally ruin it.

Advice please?  ???
Title: Re: Where to run temperature probe?
Post by: tygo on August 21, 2010, 01:52:10 PM
I just run it between the door and the gasket and my freezer seems efficient enough.  It's definitely not running constantly.
Title: Re: Where to run temperature probe?
Post by: dhacker on August 21, 2010, 02:38:27 PM
I just run it between the door and the gasket and my freezer seems efficient enough.  It's definitely not running constantly.

Agree . .between the gasket
Title: Re: Where to run temperature probe?
Post by: brushvalleybrewer on August 21, 2010, 03:31:03 PM
Thanks guys. That will make things easier. 8)
Title: Re: Where to run temperature probe?
Post by: rep on August 23, 2010, 03:56:06 AM
I just run the wire between the gasket and the door and find no issues.

I do though tape the probe to the side of my carboys and cover that with insulation so the temp controller is getting the stats directly from the fermentor.

ie, if your are using the frig as a fermentor rather than as a kegerator.