Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Brewery Oops's.....  (Read 4815 times)

Offline wiley

• Cellarman
  • Great beer - built from the ground up!
Brewery Oops's.....
« on: November 26, 2011, 08:15:57 pm »
Ever do something in the brewery that you immediately know is a bad idea, but that split second realization isn't fast enough? Here's mine from yesterday --

Skipped chilling since it was starter wort and was going into quart jars for sterilizing. But, when you spill just a tad and want to clean up a bit, it's a bad idea to use cold water to do so. Just sayin....

Carboy down!!

Offline tygo

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Sterling, VA
Re: Brewery Oops's.....
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2011, 08:21:32 pm »
Ouch.  Glad it wasn't worse.  I've had some bad experiences with hot glass and cold water.
Clint
Wort Hogs

Offline Hokerer

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Manassas, VA
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2011, 08:46:16 pm »
At least it was in the sink, better than all over the floor.

Now, get thee a better bottle as a replacement
Joe

Offline wiley

• Cellarman
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2011, 08:54:05 pm »

True! Putting it in the sink was the only speck of intelligence displayed in the 15 seconds prior to hosing down the carboy...

Thought about the better bottles - how are they with heat? I've been looking at getting a couple of these guys too --

http://www.milehidistilling.com/New-Heavy-duty-Milk-cans-with-clamp-down-lids-p/16206.htm

Pricey, but probably worth it for where my efforts are headed.

Offline bluesman

• I must live here
  • Delaware
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2011, 10:13:26 pm »
Chalk it up as a valuable learning lesson. Glad you didn't get hurt. I've heard quite a few horror stories concerning carboy mishaps. There's a lot of potential for disaster with regards to handling carboys. I am always very cautious.

Ron Price

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator