Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Water Report  (Read 5965 times)

Offline dean

• Brewmaster
  • Me and Hayden, my newest grandson.
Water Report
« on: January 18, 2010, 03:00:45 pm »
Wohoooo!  Just got it!!   ;D

Now... I'm new to this so I don't really know what to make of it yet.  Here is the report.  Suprisingly the sulfates are low so I don't know why I'm getting such harsh and dry bittering?
pH: 7.8
Na: 6
K: <1
Ca: 50
Mg: 18
Total Hardness CaC03: 200
N03-N: <.1 (SAFE)
S04-S: 5
Cl: 6
C03: <1
HC03: 221
Total Alkalinity CaC03: 181

So... what the hell is this telling me?   :D   ???
« Last Edit: January 18, 2010, 06:01:20 pm by dean »

Offline dean

• Brewmaster
Re: Water Report
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2010, 03:02:49 pm »
Maybe "harsh" is the wrong word... overpowering may be more correct.

Offline Kaiser

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Imperial Brewing Geek
    • braukaiser.com
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2010, 09:01:44 pm »
Suprisingly the sulfates are low so I don't know why I'm getting such harsh and dry bittering?

I don't think its the sulfates. Its your alkalinity. You have fairly alkaline water and light beers don't have enough acidity in the grist to lower your mash pH into the 5.4 - 5.6 range. As a result your boil pH is high and you extract more and harsher bitterness from the hops.

There are a number of options you have:

dillution + gypsum and or calcium chloride
lactic acid addition + gypsum and or calcium chloride

You can also reduce the alkalinity by adding some more calcium and boiling your water. As you may have already noticed in cooking this precipitates chalk. If you let that chalk settle and decant the clear water you'll have lower alkalinity water. But that takes a lot of additional energy. An alternative is the use of slacked lime (a.k.a pickling lime) but that is a rather advanced process that I don't want to get into now.

Kai

Offline dean

• Brewmaster