Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: pressure cooker vs. pressure canner?  (Read 2040 times)

Offline enso

• Brewer
  • Northeast Kingdom, VT
    • Bristle Bros. Brewing Blog
pressure cooker vs. pressure canner?
« on: January 19, 2010, 06:55:21 pm »
Is there a difference when it comes to canning wort?  I have a pressure cooker.  It is a really nice stainless Kuhn Rikon stainless steel one I got for $10 at the thrift store.  It was practically new and works well.

From what I understand to properly can wort you need to can it at 15 lbs. pressure for 20 minutes.  My pressure cooker has a spring loaded relief valve.  When it pushes up to the first ring on the valve stem it is at 8 lbs. pressure, when the second ring shows it is at 15 lbs.

So theoretically this should be what I need yes?  I have been canning wort for a few months now with it and using it, though I still store the canned wort in the kegerator because I am unsure.

Another question for folks.  I am starting to get into yeast culturing.  I have a whole mess of clean baby food jars from when my kids were younger.  I attempted canning some wort in those for smaller starters.  I had a heck of a time with the lids coming off in the cooker.  Some wort leaked.  I sealed them back on when taking them out.  Some sealed as they cooled others did not.  Are these going to be safe, the ones that sealed anyways?  Why do the lids come off in the cooker?
Dave Brush

Offline Hokerer

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Manassas, VA
Re: pressure cooker vs. pressure canner?
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2010, 07:33:56 pm »
cooker or canner, it sounds like it's just a terminology difference.  The 15 minutes at 15 pounds sounds like just what you need.  As for the baby food jars, what lids are you trying to use?  I couldn't imagine being able to successfully reuse the original lids and I didn't think regular canning lids/bands would fit.