Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Kegging with priming  (Read 12892 times)

Offline dons

• Cellarman
  • Carrabelle, Florida
Kegging with priming
« on: January 05, 2012, 08:42:24 am »
Okay, I TRIED looking through the forum for an answer - but thought I'd pester you instead.

I have read in the latest Zymurgy about using priming sugar (.3 v. .7 cups) in the keg, and then continuing on to CO2 carbonate (as usual?).  I'm new to kegging, but was under the impression that kegging and the use of priming sugar were mutually exclusive.  So, now I find they are not. 

Sooooo, what are the reasons for doing both?  Does it create a different kind of carbonation?  And is it as simple as adding that amount of sugar (boiled, I presume, just as in bottling) to the receiving keg at keg time?

Thanks in advance,
Don
I've finally figured out my problem.  I have Cenosillicaphobia.

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: Kegging with priming
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2012, 08:56:27 am »
I am not sure about priming and force carbing which is what you are describing. I have not finished the latest zymurgy either so...

But what I am thinking it might be is that even if you prime the keg that will only carb the beer, you will still need to hook up co2 to a) set the seal on the lid and b) serve the beer. so you are not counting on the canned co2 to carb your beer, the sugar and remaining yeast will handle that, just to push the beer out without losing carb.
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein

"errors are [...] the portals of discovery"
- J Joyce

Offline beersk

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • In the night!
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2012, 08:57:50 am »