Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First time brewer needs help!  (Read 4309 times)

Offline andresp11

• 1st Kit
First time brewer needs help!
« on: January 04, 2012, 11:32:26 am »
Hello,
Im just getting into homebrewing and was wondering what steps should i take first. What equipment should i buy?
Thanks for the help  :)

Offline tschmidlin

• I must live here
  • Redmond, WA
Re: First time brewer needs help!
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2012, 11:39:51 am »
I think the best start for you would be to read through these links and then come back with questions

http://www.homebrewersassociation.org/pages/lets-brew/get-schooled/get-started
http://www.homebrewersassociation.org/pages/zymurgy/free-downloads/zymurgy-an-introduction-to-homebrewing

It's not a massive deluge of information, but it is enough info to give you a basic idea of the process and equipment involved.

Are there any homebrew shops near you?
Tom Schmidlin

Offline euge

• I must live here
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2012, 11:54:35 am »
To start go with the buckets, etc demonstrated in the link.

If you have a decent stock-pot that holds a couple gallons you can do an extract partial boil on the stove in the kitchen and brew some pretty decent beer very easily.

But, if you get into this thing serious then there is equipment to buy- and I would start with a decent sized brew kettle. Secondly, give some thought to the temperature you'll be fermenting in. For ales you want to have a range between 60 and 70 Fahrenheit. Often this takes special measures in both summer and winter.

Thirdly, it's never too soon to discuss water. You can't have good beer without water that tastes good. So if your tap water is crap then buy gallon jugs at the store. With extract brewing purified or distilled water works very well.