Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Golden Promise in a wheat beer?  (Read 4625 times)

Offline gmac

• Brewmaster General
  • London, Ontario
Golden Promise in a wheat beer?
« on: December 14, 2011, 05:01:51 pm »
I have 5 lbs of Golden Promise that I bought on a whim, figuring that I'd come up with something to use it in.  I was wondering about making a wheat beer for a friends party in February.  My friend wants me to make some beer but he's not a big beer drinker in terms of his range of tastes.  He likes California common styles which I can do but he also like light beers like wheat beers and light lagers.  I don't really have time right now to make a good lager.

How would the Golden Promise be in a wheat beer?  I've never used it before and I know it's characteristic of Scottish and Irish beers but what character does it bring to a beer?  I was thinking of:

50% GP
50% malted wheat
25 GDU with a bit of hop flavour but not a lot.  Maybe 1/2 an ounce of citra at 10 min.  Or would a German or English hop work better?
WLP001 yeast
Fermented at about 62F

Would this be a waste of the GP?  Would it be better with pilsner malt?
« Last Edit: December 14, 2011, 05:05:45 pm by gmac »

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: Golden Promise in a wheat beer?
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2011, 01:26:23 am »
I think the british summer ale 'style' includes wheat and I would not be suprised to see GP in there as well. I think it would be good.
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein

"errors are [...] the portals of discovery"
- J Joyce

Offline euge

• I must live here
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2011, 01:57:06 am »
It's a decent base malt. Try the wheat and German hops.
The first principle is that you must not fool yourself, and you are the easiest person to fool. -Richard P. Feynman