Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: going to Germany  (Read 5150 times)

Offline anfotias

• 1st Kit
going to Germany
« on: October 14, 2012, 08:02:36 am »
I am pretty new to homebrewing and have only really brewed a few times at a friend’s house before deploying to Afghanistan. since being deployed I have been ordering all the stuff I’m gonna need to brew in my own garage when i get home, and just found out that shortly after I return from Afghanistan i will be going to Baumholder Germany for 3 years. Just curious if there is any homebrewers near there. And how hard is it going to be to brew out there

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
Re: going to Germany
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2012, 08:33:27 am »
I am not familiar with the Baumholder area, looks like it is near K-town. That is not the area of Germany with a lot of breweries. You are a lucky guy regardless.

Back in 98-99 I lived in Weisbaden, and homebrewing was not a thing the Germans did. It has become more common now, but still not to the level in the states. There may be other Army guys who homebrew. I talked to an Army guy last time I was in Schlenkerla in Bamberg who was a homebrewer, so it is done over there.

Your challenge may be supplies. There are places to get them online in Belgium and England - though I have never done that. The "Fan Shop" at Weyermanns was closed the week we were in Bamberg, so I don't know what they sell on site. You should go to Bamberg,see the town, drink Rauchbier, and visit Weyermanns to check it out.

There is this German homebrew site I have bookmarked. All auf Duetsch.
http://hobbybrauer.de/modules.php?name=eBoard
Jeff Rankert
AHA Lifetime Member
BJCP National
Ann Arbor Brewers Guild
Home-brewing, not just a hobby, it is a lifestyle!

Offline anfotias

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2012, 11:01:02 am »