Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Felt Like Cheating  (Read 4209 times)

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
Re: Felt Like Cheating
« Reply #15 on: June 25, 2014, 09:16:25 am »
I still fly sparge and can squeeze in a half day brew day.  You have to be organized and do things to shave time. I prepare the night before, mill grain while heating strike water, heat sparge water while mashing, heat the runoff while I am sparging, clean out mash tun and clean and sanitize fermenter while boiling and chilling. It is possible. And I don’t think using extract is cheating. I have been thinking of brewing extract batches to get more brewing in. There are a lot more/better extract options available now than when i started brewing.

Definitely better quality extracts today for sure.  Like I said, I still make a split extract batch occasionally to experiment with new hops. I wasn't saying it's cheating and no one should use extract, just that after so many AG batches it sort of feels like cheating to not have to monitor much.
Jon H.

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #16 on: June 25, 2014, 09:17:51 am »
And I don’t think using extract is cheating.

Same. For me it's all about cost. I went all-grain after one $80 batch of imperial stout. Granted that also included hops bought by the ounce in the middle of the "crisis"

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
« Reply #17 on: June 25, 2014, 09:22:00 am »
I still do 2-3 extract batches a year (plus several 1-gallon test batches). For me, I can easily handle an extract batch at night after work, but an all-grain batch generally requires having the house to myself for the day.