Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Saving yeast from bottle-conditioned brew  (Read 3951 times)

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
Saving yeast from bottle-conditioned brew
« on: January 17, 2012, 02:34:06 pm »
I'm about to crack into my 1986-Vintage Thomas Hardy Ale and I'm wondering if it's possible to harvest any usable yeast from the leftover (26-year old) sediment. Does anyone have a link to a step-by-step procedure for this? If I do get any usable yeast, is there any way to be able to store it long-term? I'm just starting out homebrewing now at a really basic level (partial-boil extract with dry yeast/no starter), but it seems like a waste if I don't at least try to save this yeast and stash it away for later use.
Eric B.

Finally got around to starting a homebrewing blog: The Hop Whisperer

Offline Joe Sr.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Chicago - NORTH SIDE
Re: Saving yeast from bottle-conditioned brew
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2012, 02:41:49 pm »
Yes.  You can do this, though it will likely be more difficult with an older stronger beer like a 1986 Thomas Hardy.

Leave the sediment in the bottle.  Dose the bottle with a small amount (maybe 4 oz.) of weak wort to start waking up the yeast.  Shake it to aerate it and cover it loosely with tin foil.

Give it 24 hours and add another small amount of wort.  Shake, cover and wait.  Next step would be to decant it into a larger vessel with more wort.  Ideally this would be on a stir plate, but that's not required.

Continue stepping it up until you have a usable amount.  Pour some off and taste it at some point in the process to make sure it's good yeast (ie. not sour or otherwise infected).

I've had luck with this process with commercial beers.  It is not fool proof, but it will work more often than not.
It's all in the reflexes. - Jack Burton

Offline beer-geek

• 1st Kit