Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Temp control ideas  (Read 5146 times)

Offline storm_ipa

• 1st Kit
Temp control ideas
« on: January 25, 2012, 04:58:02 pm »
I'm relatively new to homebrew(brewed my third batch saturday) and read an article on temp control for the fermentation by building your own temp controller. The idea looks sound and I could do it, but my question is, has anyone tried doing this with something like a fridge to be able to heat if necessary? I could put the temp controller on my minifridge to control the cold air, but not sure how to add heat if necessary. i'll be doing a build thread once I figure the heat part out. Thanks for the help/ideas. I couldn't find a search function on the forums.....
"He was a wise man who invented beer."

Offline weithman5

• Senior Brewmaster
  • naperville, il
Re: Temp control ideas
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2012, 05:07:51 pm »
there are threads out there and also check on the byo website about builds. but yes, often people will wire in a light bulb which will be used to heat the refrig.  i actually have use a styrofoam box for a few small batches with a 4 watt christmas bulb.  in single digit temps outside and 25-30 degree inside my garage it kept the beer at 50.
Don AHA member

Offline storm_ipa

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2012, 05:48:20 pm »
I brew mainly IPA's, but I want to get into Lagers and low temp fermentations. I'm thinking about taking an old minifridge and a heating element... maybe frankenstein it together?

Offline Gribble

• Assistant Brewer
    • Low Mo Brewing Company
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2012, 07:18:26 pm »