Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: My beer is flat  (Read 3644 times)

Offline headhunter4hire

• 1st Kit
My beer is flat
« on: February 05, 2012, 10:53:25 am »
Aloha,

I'm new to this so please don't frag me! I kegged my first beer, a colonial IPA. The color and taste came out great, there was no carbonation. I didn't make or add a sugar priming solution before I kegged it. I was told that it wasn't required because the co2 would add the carbonation.

I hooked my co2 up and let it sit for a couple of days before pouring, my regulator is set at 12 psi. Can this keg be saved or will I have to drink it flat until my next batch? I have two more batches fermenting right now, should I prime them as if I were going to bottle them?

Much mahalo.

Offline cheba420

• Brewer
  • Can I get a beer up in here?
    • The Beer Research Institute
Re: My beer is flat
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2012, 11:12:27 am »
Personally, I dont like to prime a keg. I've done it a couple of times and just didnt care for it. If you leave the gas on for a few days, you'll get it carbonated just fine. If you want to speed it up, crank your regulator up to 25-30 psi and you'll be all carb'd up in even less time.

Now, if you want to get all scientific and precise about it, you'll want to take a look at the carbonation cart posted here:http://www.kegerators.com/carbonation-table.php

If, after taking one of these routes, your beer still isnt carbonated, you probably have a leak in your keg gaskets, line or connections. Crank up the gas and spray the hell out of everything with star san. If theres a leak, you'll see bubbles!

Good luck!
Matt
Mesa, AZ.

On Tap: Vanilla Porter, Belgian Blonde, Saison, Black IPA, Punkin Porter
Primary: Pale 31 Clone, Raspberry Cider
Secondary: Vanilla Porter
Conditioning: Brett IPA
Bottles:Mosaic Wheat
On Deck: Flanders Red, Berliner weisse, Punkin Saison, Saison Brett

Offline tschmidlin

• I must live here