Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Bottle conditioned off flavor  (Read 6758 times)

Offline haasfilm

• 1st Kit
Bottle conditioned off flavor
« on: February 13, 2012, 06:20:10 am »
Has anyone encountered persistent off flavors as a result of bottle conditioning? I've been brewing for several years and kegging for most of that time. Occasionally I will bottle condition sour and big beers. I've noticed an unpleasant off flavor on bottle conditioned beers. I bottled a year old barley wine in December and initially it was very neutral and tasty upon achieving carbonation. However within a few months this sweet, homebrew-y flavors has settled in and "ruined" it. I've had similar experiences with other beers. I can't imagine it's an infection issue, since these beers do not become gushers, and I've got sanitation pretty under control in my brewery. Just curious if others have had this issue? I'm thinking it's time for a beer gun to bottle the stuff I want to age in bottle.
BJCP National Judge

Offline tygo

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Sterling, VA
Re: Bottle conditioned off flavor
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2012, 06:56:18 pm »
It sounds like it could be oxidation.  Especially since it takes a little while for the flavor to develop.  How are you racking and bottling your beers?
Clint
Wort Hogs

Offline euge

• I must live here
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2012, 08:50:12 pm »
Also how are you storing your beer? Describe homebrewey- to me that suggests fresh beer on the yeast. However, if it is a meaty flavor then you might have incipient autolysis which is much much worse. Is the beer darkening?
The first principle is that you must not fool yourself, and you are the easiest person to fool. -Richard P. Feynman

Laws are spider-webs, which catch the little flies, but cannot hold the big ones. -Anacharsis

Offline thomasbarnes

• Brewer