Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: I need some sort of bract filter  (Read 5786 times)

Offline gmac

• Brewmaster General
  • London, Ontario
I need some sort of bract filter
« on: February 23, 2012, 09:37:30 pm »
I made an ESB and I used some leaf hops that I had.  But, then I got distracted when my friend stopped by and some beer was drunk and them some more beer and things went down hill.  I usually transfer my beer by siphon but with the darn leaf hops in there, the siphon got plugged and I got frustrated and just dumped everything into the fermenter. 
I tried (sober) to carefully rack the beer into the keg but I still got too many leaves.

The beer tastes good but when I pour a beer, I get too many "floaties".  If I took out the diptube and put a piece of nylon screen on the bottom of it, is that gonna cause me big problems?  Or if I just wait for a while, will they eventually settle out?  I'm not good at waiting...
Thanks
« Last Edit: March 12, 2012, 08:05:22 am by gmac »

Offline tygo

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Sterling, VA
Re: I need some sort of leaf filter
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2012, 04:44:22 am »
A screen on the dip tube is a good idea.  I'm not sure about the nylon. Something like this would probably work well:  http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/surescreen.html

That would work on the racking cane too.
Clint
Wort Hogs

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2012, 09:28:41 am »
I have a batch I'm dry-hopping with whole leaves at the moment. I was thinking of tieing a hop bag over the end of my auto-siphon to keep from racking any leaves into my bottling bucket. Anyone ever try this?
Eric B.

Finally got around to starting a homebrewing blog: The Hop Whisperer

Offline Hokerer

• Manassas, VA
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2012, 09:50:02 am »