Author Topic: glass carboy blow off tube ?  (Read 367 times)

Offline golfgod04

• Brewer
    • View Profile
    • My new Brewing Website - Totally Brewed Co
glass carboy blow off tube ?
« on: December 11, 2017, 05:56:36 PM »
So I was just gifted a glass carboy.  I was wondering what do I need for a bung and blowoff tube set up? I've never used a carboy before so I dont know what to purchase.

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life.
    • View Profile
glass carboy blow off tube ?
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2017, 06:10:40 PM »
Some people like to use the orange hoods, but a 1” ID tube jammed into the hole works well too. In a pinch, 3/8 ID tubing will fit over the center post of an airlock.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2017, 06:12:16 PM by Stevie »

Offline narcout

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Los Angeles, CA
    • View Profile
Re: glass carboy blow off tube ?
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2017, 06:11:00 PM »
I think glass carboys usually take a #6.5 stopper. 

https://www.morebeer.com/products/stopper-65-hole.html?site_id=9

They also make universal carboy stoppers that are tapered.

https://www.morebeer.com/products/rubber-stopper-universal-hole.html

Or you could use a carboy cap.

https://www.morebeer.com/products/carboy-blow-hood-smooth-neck-carboys.html

For blowoff, you can attach tubing to the airlock or use tubing large enough to fit directly in the neck (for which I think the right size is 1" I.D, 1.25" O.D.)

Be excellent to each other

Offline brewinhard

• Official Poobah of No Life.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2017, 06:22:35 PM »
I typically use my thermowell for the carboy bung/stopper and for my blow-off (when needed, strain dependent) I use a 3 piece airlock with cap and bell removed. A thick wall 3/8 ID tubing for my blowoff hose fits right over the airlock center piece.

Offline Slowbrew

• Brewmaster General
  • The Slowly Losing IT Brewery in Urbandale, IA
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2017, 08:52:57 PM »