Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: new charcoal pit?  (Read 4949 times)

Offline loopy

• Brewer
new charcoal pit?
« on: February 28, 2012, 07:15:42 pm »
I have a birthday coming up in a few days and have been given the greenlight to get a new bbq pit.  I have a nice smoker, a larger old style new braunfels hondo style.  I also have a decent propane grill, a clamshell weber model that I really like.  For charcoal grill, I have been using "recycled" grills for a few years.  Like old propane grills converted to charcoal.   

I am ready for a new grill.  I am a bit intrigued by the green egg, but dont like the price tag.  200 bizillion happy customers of the weber cannot be too wrong.  I also like the concept of the UDS - ugly barrel style.  I am also leaning towards a pretty weber like the performer with the built in table.  (they have it at my local ace hardware). 

In short.  after 35 years of a lifetime of bbq, I dont know what grill I want next.  Does anyone have any thoughts - good or bad about grills?  I don't need a smoker, wont be doing brisket or ribs or pork shoulders on it - I am covered there.  I just want a decent nice temp grill to use charcoal and mesquite/oak on when the dinner requires so.  What works for you guys and what would you suggest I seriously consider? 

Offline Joe Sr.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Chicago - NORTH SIDE
Re: new charcoal pit?
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2012, 07:47:55 pm »
I grill on a Weber kettle grill.  Always have.

You can use it as a smoker if you must, though it's not ideal.

I've cooked everything on this thing and the one in the yard is 15+ years old.
It's all in the reflexes. - Jack Burton

Offline euge

• I must live here
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2012, 08:25:04 pm »