Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Hop bomb!!!  (Read 4219 times)

Offline lukethesithlord

• 1st Kit
Hop bomb!!!
« on: February 28, 2012, 03:31:25 pm »
I brewed my first IPA with success and much enjoyment.  Unfortunately it is not the "hop bomb" I was hoping for.  Just going to throw a few out there as to what sort of flavor/profile i'm hoping for, but I don't know what I'm doing/not doing to get that super intense hop aroma/flavor.  The severely wonderful hop flavors i've gotten out of Stone IPA, Icicle brewing's Bootjack IPA, and Fremont Brewing Interurban IPA.  What am I missing here?

Aging: Northern Brewers Advantageous Weizenbock
Drinking: Midwest Supplies Summit Avenue ESB
Drinking: Northern Brewer Sinistral Warrior IPA

Offline nateo

• Brewmaster General
Re: Hop bomb!!!
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2012, 03:36:49 pm »
I'm not an expert at making hoppy beers, but I've made a few really good ones. I've had the best success using only late hop additions. Basically, you add all of your hops at -30min or less. You have to add a lot more to get the bitterness you want, but that means you get a lot more hops for aroma/flavor.

I also time my dry hopping so it's as close to bottling as I can get it. Aroma fades over time. 

Some people really like first wort hopping, but I haven't tried it.
In der Kürze liegt die Würze.

Offline ahaintern

• Cellarman
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2012, 03:48:23 pm »
Basically, you add all of your hops at -30min or less

+1. Add tons of hops between 30 mins and flameout. Then dry hop at least 2 oz per 5 gallons of beer, and you'll have yourself a pretty hoppy beer.

Offline WDE97

• Assistant Brewer
  • Lewiston, ID
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2012, 04:14:46 pm »