Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Re-pitcing advice  (Read 2722 times)

Offline scott

• Cellarman
Re-pitcing advice
« on: March 16, 2012, 06:48:25 am »
This is my first attempt a reusing yeast for a second batch.  I would like to brew a 3 gallon batch of a Tripel (La Fin du Monde clone), about 9% ABV.  Should I pitch all of the solids into the Triple, solids from just one of the jars, or just the top white stuff of one or both jars?

I brewed a 3 gallon Belgian pale batch (Rare Vos clone) with WLP570, it ended up being 6% ABV, 1.060 OG; 1.014 FG.  I added about 1 pint of sanitized water to the yeast cake the bottom of the fermentation bucket and collected it in these two jars about two days ago.  I've kept them in the fridge. 

I was also thinking about also brewing a Dubble (Trois Pistoles clone, 3 gallon batch) in around a week or two.  Is it too ambitious to use just one jar for the Tripel and save the other for the Dubble?  I'm guessing it will be too hard on the yeast to re-pitch from the Tripel to the Dubble.

I've learned so much just lurking these boards, I'm eager to brew more beer. 

Scott

Offline ccfoo242

• Brewmaster
  • I drank what? - Socrates
Re: Re-pitcing advice
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2012, 07:13:35 am »
There's a tab on the Mr. Malty yeast calculator for repitching from a slurry:
http://www.mrmalty.com/calc/calc.html

I've yet to do that but will be harvesting some this weekend for use in my next brew.

Good luck!

Intra cervisiam est deus.

Offline bluesman

• I must live here
  • Delaware
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2012, 07:41:33 am »