Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Please critique this pale ale recipe  (Read 4646 times)

Offline ccfoo242

• Brewmaster
  • I drank what? - Socrates
Please critique this pale ale recipe
« on: March 19, 2012, 07:42:41 pm »
Starting with an SNPA clone then straying far away from it I'm up to this. I'm trying to get something that has a malt sweetness with a floral/fruity hop flavor and just enough bitterness to be called an American Pale Ale. The numbers are all in the middle of the BJCP styles, but since I'm very new to this I have no idea if this will be close to what I think it should be. Any comments welcome.

BeerSmith 2 Recipe Printout - http://www.beersmith.com
Recipe: My Pale Ale 1
Brewer:
Asst Brewer:
Style: American Pale Ale
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (30.0)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 7.25 gal
Post Boil Volume: 6.50 gal
Batch Size (fermenter): 5.50 gal   
Bottling Volume: 5.10 gal
Estimated OG: 1.052 SG
Estimated Color: 8.1 SRM
Estimated IBU: 37.7 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 72.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 81.8 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amt                   Name                                     Type          #        %/IBU         
10 lbs                Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM)           Grain         1        90.9 %       
8.0 oz                Caramel/Crystal Malt - 80L (80.0 SRM)    Grain         2        4.5 %         
8.0 oz                Victory Malt (biscuit) (Briess) (28.0 SR Grain         3        4.5 %         
0.750 oz              Magnum [13.10 %] - Boil 60.0 min         Hop           4        31.2 IBUs     
1.00 tsp              Irish Moss (Boil 15.0 mins)              Fining        5        -             
0.500 oz              Centennial [10.00 %] - Boil 10.0 min     Hop           6        5.8 IBUs     
1.000 oz              Cascade [5.50 %] - Boil 1.0 min          Hop           7        0.8 IBUs