Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Don't fear the trub  (Read 6744 times)

Offline gigatropolis

• Cellarman
Don't fear the trub
« on: March 25, 2012, 11:31:40 am »
   I've changed my attitude about trub since I started brewing over a year ago and was wondering if this is a bad thing. Some of the first batches I did I was terrified of getting any break material sucked into the racking cane into the primary fermenter and would carefully try to siphon off the wort but still leave a lot in the kettle because it wasn't clear. The last few batches have been different: I put a mesh over the fermeter bucket then pickup the kettle and just poor the wort in (whistling a tune) while the break material and other stuff goes along with the flow. The only thing left in the pan is some heavier stuff and the mesh does catch some, bu not all.
  I feel this can be safely done because after two weeks in the fermenter everything will be settled to the bottom anyway and clear beer can be siphoned out, but is this affecting the beer in anyway? Does the break and some hop debris really do anything noticeable to the beer?

I do partial boils so the wort in the kettle can be a thick syrup when doing a big beer. The break material and other light stuff can take over an hour to sink to the bottom in this stuff so that was a factor in deciding not to fear the trub. Concentrated wort is like liquid gold that is painful to waste.

Should I fear troob  or continue on this path fearlessness?

Kregg

Offline euge

• I must live here
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
Re: Don't fear the trub
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2012, 11:50:03 am »
I wouldn't worry overmuch about it. I often use a china-cap and whole hops (or pellet) to help filter the break material but a lot still ends up in the fermenter. Sometimes I just dump it all in- especially extract batches.

Many feel the need to remove this material- however, they can explain why.