Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Amber Ale Recipe  (Read 9135 times)

Offline SecondRow_Sean

• Assistant Brewer
  • North of the Wall, NY
Amber Ale Recipe
« on: April 05, 2012, 11:54:03 am »
I'm using BeerSmith for the first time and wanted to get some feedback on an amber ale recipe. I'm using Palmer's Big Basin Amber Ale as a basis for starting. This is what I have so far:

5#2oz- Light DME
.5oz Centennial (60 min)
1.oz Mt Hood (30 min)
.5oz Centennial (Dry hop in primary)
1#14oz- Crystal 60L (160F for 30min)

WLP060 w/2L starter

Target OG= 1.054
Target IBU= 34

Also, a few questions:

-For dry hopping, do I just toss the pellets in a grain bag and put them in the wort when I pitch, or should I wait until after fermentation slows down?

- I have a 10G brew kettle, so I can do a full boil. Since I'm looking for a 5 gallon batch, and I'm still new to this/BeerSmith, what amount of H2O should I use? The program says total water needed to be 7.9 gallons- that seems pretty high for boil off/ trub loss.

Thanks for the advice.

Offline euge

• I must live here
  • Ego ceruisam ad bibere cervisiam
Re: Amber Ale Recipe
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2012, 12:00:07 pm »
Recipe looks ok.

Have you measured your boil-off rate? You should be able to change the factor to represent your own particular rate. There's also absorption in the hops but it is minimal unless using a bunch.

A vigorous uncovered boil in my brewery results in nearly a 2 gallon evaporation over the course of an hour- hour and a half.

Partially covered it is much less.
The first principle is that you must not fool yourself, and you are the easiest person to fool. -Richard P. Feynman

Laws are spider-webs, which catch the little flies, but cannot hold the big ones. -Anacharsis

Offline SecondRow_Sean

• Assistant Brewer
  • North of the Wall, NY
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2012, 12:50:26 pm »