Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Storing keg-bottled beers  (Read 8735 times)

Offline violaleebrews

• Cellarman
  • "the bottle was dusty, but the liquor was clean"
Storing keg-bottled beers
« on: April 19, 2012, 02:14:45 pm »
When bottling force-carbed beer from a keg, should I expect problems cellaring any beers?

I don't have a way to keep a "library" of beers chilled.  My keg fridge is @ 32° and doesn't have room for a lot of bottles.  My basement temp varies from season to season; from about 55° in the winter to 72° in the summer.

My concern is the temperature change affecting the beer.  Any thoughts?

Offline jmcamerlengo

• Brewmaster
Re: Storing keg-bottled beers
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2012, 02:20:06 pm »
Im interested in this as well.

I have been bottling with a beergun for about 9 months now, and have stored beer away from it. Ive had issues in some cases and others not. So im wondering if anyone has longer term experience.
Jason
-Head Brewer, Brewtus Brewers in the Shenango Valley. Hopefully opening a brewpub/nano brewery in the next couple years.

Offline The Professor

• Brewmaster
  • "In the next life, you're on your own"
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2012, 03:06:45 pm »
You shouldn't have problems if the sanitation is good, you purge the bottles before filling, and use PureSeal caps.
Whenever I've bottled beers in the 20-25 years,  it has awlays been fully cleared and conditioned beer from the keg. 

I've even kept stronger beers that way, at cellar temperature, for as long a 10-15 years  and haven't had any problems.  I have even stored many of them at cellar temperature.  I don't routinely keep them that long (the average is more like a year or two) but the point is that they can last far longer.

Cleanliness and avoiding any oxidation are the most important points.
AL
New Brunswick, NJ
[499.6, 101.2] Apparent Rennerian
Homebrewer since July 1971

Offline brewerjack

• 1st Kit