Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Swift kick to the nuts!  (Read 8423 times)

Offline cheba420

• Brewer
  • Can I get a beer up in here?
    • The Beer Research Institute
Swift kick to the nuts!
« on: April 22, 2012, 11:49:02 am »
I recently entered my first competition. I've been brewing for several years without objective feedback from those who arent directly connected to me in some way. I wanted to enter the competition to learn more about brewing and to get honest feedback from others. Check and double check! I certainly wasnt expecting to win but man, I got a swift kick right to the nuts. Makes me want to dump everything in the fridge and start fresh. I'm grateful for the feedback but now have some ego repair to do and some major tightening of my brewing process. Major flaws were DMS and Diacetyl. I boil hard, cool fast and I ferment in a temp controlled extra fridge. Any suggestions on how to get these two animals out of my brew?
Matt
Mesa, AZ.

On Tap: Vanilla Porter, Belgian Blonde, Saison, Black IPA, Punkin Porter
Primary: Pale 31 Clone, Raspberry Cider
Secondary: Vanilla Porter
Conditioning: Brett IPA
Bottles:Mosaic Wheat
On Deck: Flanders Red, Berliner weisse, Punkin Saison, Saison Brett

Offline tubercle

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Sweet Caroline
Re: Swift kick to the nuts!
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2012, 11:52:40 am »
I've been brewing for several years....

More important, how do you feel about your brew?
Sweet Caroline where the Sun rises over the deep blue sea and sets somewhere beyond Tennessee

Offline nateo

• Brewmaster General
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2012, 11:57:15 am »