Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Adding bitterness post-fermentation  (Read 8207 times)

Offline Headless Monk

• 1st Kit
Adding bitterness post-fermentation
« on: April 23, 2012, 07:22:38 pm »
I brewed a "clean out the cupboard" lager about six weeks ago.  I tapped the first keg this past weekend and the beer could be better.

I was aiming for something vienna-ish, but, in retrospect, shouldn't have added any crystal malts.  I figure, though, that if I can increase the bitterness it might make a nice altbier.

The recipe was as follows (10 gal):
10.0 lb Pils Malt
7.25 lb Vienna Malt
0.75 lb Dark Munich Malt
0.5 lb CaraMunich III Malt
0.5 lb CaraAroma Malt
2.0 oz Hersbrucker (60)
2.0 oz Tettnanger (20)
1.0 oz Hersbrucker (10)
1.0 oz Tettnanger (10)
WLP830 cake from a previous batch

So, I've thought of a few possible fixes and am interested in other's experiences.

1)  Add some sort of hop extract.  I have no experience with this and am open to suggestions.

2)  Add some sort of hop tea.  Again, I have no experience with this and am open to suggestions.

3)  Rack it onto a Roeselare cake that will be available soon and see what happens.

4)  Any other ideas.

Thanks in advance.
Nate
Norfolk, Virginia

Offline tygo

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Sterling, VA
Re: Adding bitterness post-fermentation
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2012, 07:33:44 pm »
The hop extracts still require boiling to isomerize the alpha acids so I don't think that'd help.  Same basic problem with hop tea.  You could brew a hoppier and complementary beer.  Or an overhopped version of the same beer, and blend to taste.
Clint
Wort Hogs

Offline Headless Monk

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2012, 07:59:14 pm »
The hop extracts still require boiling to isomerize the alpha acids so I don't think that'd help.  Same basic problem with hop tea.