Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Any thoughts on this? tastes a little sour...  (Read 2534 times)

Offline rgonzalez_me

• Cellarman
  • Nothing Special - Manassas, VA
Any thoughts on this? tastes a little sour...
« on: June 01, 2015, 08:07:01 pm »
I pitched WLP530 Abbey Ale at 65F and kept it at around 65-68F for 7 days and now I am letting it ramp up a little to mid 70's. It is currently at 72.84F measured from the inside of the tank inside a fermentation chamber. Also, I infused with pure O2 for 2 minutes prior to pitching.

I took an SG reading and it is now at 1.014 from 1.057 (5.3-5.4%ABV). (I am still to do a D-45 addition to take that SG some points where my ABV will finish up at 6.8%)

Anyway.....

I tried the sample and it has the color, I sense a little fruitiness and the taste had a spicy-sweet front palate and a slightly sour after taste.

I've never used WLP530 before.... is this normal?
I know I have to wait because it is still too green... I guess I kind of need someone to get my mind away from the worst case scenario.

“Beer makes you feel the way you ought to feel without beer”  -Henry Lawson

Keg #1: DD Pilsner
Keg #2: Sauvin-Mango-Hibiscus Ale
Primary: Saison
Primary: Paters Bier - Saison du Vin
Bottled: Chocolate-mocha peanut butter stout

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
Re: Any thoughts on this? tastes a little sour...
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2015, 06:10:30 am »
Beer that is still fermenting has a fair amount of yeast in suspension. This can come across as slightly sour or bitter. When the beer finishes and drops out I'll bet you notice the flavors clean up and that sour yeasty character should disappear. An infection isn't impossible but I think it's more likely you're tasting young, yeasty beer.
Jon H.

Offline dmtaylor

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living