Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Using Johnson Dig. Controller with FermWrap Heater?  (Read 3949 times)

Offline ukolowiczd

• Assistant Brewer
  • Burlington, VT
Using Johnson Dig. Controller with FermWrap Heater?
« on: April 27, 2012, 07:28:53 am »
I wrapped two saisons with FermWrap heaters and plugged them into the Johnson Dig. Controller only to realize that I'm not an electrician and could not understand the directions. Any help would be great as I can only find how to use these things in a refrigerator and they are NOT in a fridge as I want to heat them eventually to 80F.

I managed to move the little plastic thingy inside to close the connection for "heating" and changed the differential to 1 degree, but I still don't get the "Cut in" and "Cut out". I want it to read let's say 75F with a differential of 1 thus 74-76F. Currently I have it on "Cut in" but I don't understand why nor why I would change it to "Cut out". Any one have experience with this?

Offline ukolowiczd

• Assistant Brewer
  • Burlington, VT
Re: Using Johnson Dig. Controller with FermWrap Heater?Anyone? Bueller?
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2012, 01:17:16 pm »
No one has experience with this? Help me Obi-wan; you're my only hope...

Offline brushvalleybrewer

• Assistant Brewer
  • Centre Hall, PA
    • Brush Valley Brewer
Re: Using Johnson Dig. Controller with FermWrap Heater?
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2012, 06:03:07 am »
Hey ukolowiczd,

I use the same setup in my cellar. Here's what I do.

The Johnson is in heating mode. The set point is the “cut out” temperature, and the differential is set to 2 °F. This means, since the cellar is cold, that the temperature of the beer falls until it is 2 °F below the set point. Then the thermostat turns the heater on until it reaches the set point. That means that the beer will ferment at 66 ± 1 °F if I set the controller for 67 °F.

Does that help?