Author Topic: Loop vs. needle?  (Read 1918 times)

Offline enso

  • Brewer
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
  • Northeast Kingdom, VT
    • View Profile
    • Bristle Bros. Brewing Blog
Loop vs. needle?
« on: February 04, 2010, 10:13:56 AM »
So, I just streaked my first plates.  Fun!   ;D

I used my inoculation loop as most sources I have read instruct.

I have an inoculation needle though as well.  In my eagerness to get going I placed an order with more beer and got their overpriced needle.  This was before I learned about cynmar.  So now I have both and I am not sure what the needle is for.

What I have read indicates that the loop is for streaking plates and slants and the needle is for stabs.  I don't understand the purpose of a stab though.  I get that you stab the inoculated needle into the agar in a slant, but what does that do?  How do you then work with this?
Dave Brush

Offline Kaiser

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Brewmaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1797
  • Imperial Brewing Geek
    • View Profile
    • braukaiser.com
Re: Loop vs. needle?
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2010, 10:21:12 AM »
stab cultures tend to remain viable longer since the yeast grows inside the agar where it doesn’t have access to oxygen. I had a few cases of 12+ month old yeast where the slant culture was dead but the stab culture still had live cells which I was able to culture on a plate and then in new slants and stabs.

Kai

Offline enso

  • Brewer
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
  • Northeast Kingdom, VT
    • View Profile
    • Bristle Bros. Brewing Blog
Re: Loop vs. needle?
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2010, 10:30:08 AM »
Okay thanks. 

How do you then access this yeast inside the agar to propagate it?
Dave Brush

Offline Kaiser

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Brewmaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1797
  • Imperial Brewing Geek
    • View Profile
    • braukaiser.com
Re: Loop vs. needle?
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2010, 10:31:58 AM »
How do you then access this yeast inside the agar to propagate it?

stab the needle in it a few times and then streak it over the plate. That's what I do and it seems to work. You don't really have to stab exacly into the hole you made first. There seems to be enough viable yeast throughout the agar.

Kai

Offline Thirsty_Monk

  • Senior Brewmaster
  • ******
  • Posts: 1833
  • Eau Claire WI
    • View Profile
Re: Loop vs. needle?
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2010, 12:12:42 PM »
Thank you for the info.
I also have both loop and needle but so far I used loop only.
Na Zdravie

On Tap At The TapRoom:
Bohemian Pilsner
Bohemian Dark Lager
Smoked Bock
MaiBock
American Brown Ale
Marzen
Root beer

Offline dean

  • Brewmaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 922
  • Me and Hayden, my newest grandson.
    • View Profile
Re: Loop vs. needle?
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2010, 12:16:51 PM »
Do I "need" a loop, or will the needle suffice?   ???

Offline Thirsty_Monk

  • Senior Brewmaster
  • ******
  • Posts: 1833
  • Eau Claire WI
    • View Profile
Re: Loop vs. needle?
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2010, 12:20:25 PM »
I think needle could do the job.
Na Zdravie

On Tap At The TapRoom:
Bohemian Pilsner
Bohemian Dark Lager
Smoked Bock
MaiBock
American Brown Ale
Marzen
Root beer

Offline dean

  • Brewmaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 922
  • Me and Hayden, my newest grandson.
    • View Profile
Re: Loop vs. needle?
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2010, 12:28:33 PM »
I hope so, I'm going to try streaking soon... who was it that wrote the song "they call him the streak?"   Don't looook Ethel!   :D

Offline roffenburger

  • Assistant Brewer
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
Re: Loop vs. needle?
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2010, 12:56:11 PM »
Do I "need" a loop, or will the needle suffice?   ???

You can make a loop from your needle. Just wrap the end of your needle into a loop. You can use a nail or something similar to help form it.
Travis R.

Offline dean

  • Brewmaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 922
  • Me and Hayden, my newest grandson.
    • View Profile
Re: Loop vs. needle?
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2010, 02:08:20 PM »
Quote
You can make a loop from your needle. Just wrap the end of your needle into a loop. You can use a nail or something similar to help form it.

After reading that I took a closer look at the needle.  The part that I thought was a handle on it is actually a slip on cover over the needle which is a fine wire... so I guess I can make a loop.   Prior to this I had only looked at it inside the case and I thought the fat wire was the needle... wow this thing has a long handle on it and the needle part is probably 3 to 4 inches long.  Thanks for making that post... it made me take a closer look at it.   :)

Offline hokerer

  • I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • ********
  • Posts: 2634
  • Manassas, VA
    • View Profile
Re: Loop vs. needle?
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2010, 02:11:19 PM »
who was it that wrote the song "they call him the streak?"   Don't looook Ethel!   :D

You mean Ray Stevens?  here...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=85krLPrWWTY
Joe

Offline enso

  • Brewer
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
  • Northeast Kingdom, VT
    • View Profile
    • Bristle Bros. Brewing Blog
Re: Loop vs. needle?
« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2010, 02:44:01 PM »
One last questions on stab cultures.  I would suppose then that it is not necessary to prepare the vials for this on a slant?  Meaning, one would simple pour the agar solution into the vial, sterilize, and then let cool standing straight up?
Dave Brush

Offline Kaiser

  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Brewmaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1797
  • Imperial Brewing Geek
    • View Profile
    • braukaiser.com
Re: Loop vs. needle?
« Reply #12 on: February 04, 2010, 03:51:51 PM »
Yes, that's what I do.

Offline enso

  • Brewer
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
  • Northeast Kingdom, VT
    • View Profile
    • Bristle Bros. Brewing Blog
Re: Loop vs. needle?
« Reply #13 on: February 04, 2010, 06:05:56 PM »
Many thanks Kaiser!

Slàinte Mhath!
Dave Brush