Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: My Keezer  (Read 13681 times)

Offline whitey

• Cellarman
My Keezer
« on: April 22, 2012, 12:07:22 pm »
I started brewing almost 2 years ago, and I found out very soon just how fast it can go from a hobby to a full blown obsession. The thing that flipped the obsession switch for me, was an article here about called

"The Amazing Transformation of Ross' Kegerator"

I had up until that point had the usual set up; you know, the 4 kegs in an upright fridge with picnic taps. In truth, my mind had begun to wonder about how to use a freezer, and then I stumbled on to Ross' Kegerator.

Suffice it to say I was blown away by what I saw, (I was thinking of putting S/S Towers on the lid of the freezer) They say that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, I hope Ross feels that way.

While not as Aesthetically pleasing as Ross' is, yet. It is super functional and I'll work on the aesthetics in time.

Here's my version:

The victim was an all metal chest freezer that has to be as old as I am (I'm 42), made by BF Goodrich of all places

After putting some casters on the bottom, I decided to put a 10" collar around it. My logic was to increase the height of the taps, I thought that from that vantage point, it would be easier to see how your pour is going.

The casters are really great for wheeling it out of the garage for cookout's and the like

Here it is, with the collar and primer. Yes, I planned to put 7 taps on the thing.  ;D

Painting it, I'm a welder....not a painter. :)

Painted, and sort of looking ok.

This is the thermostat I used. I got it from the Chi Company, I think it cost $40 and works like a bomb

Running the lines, this was probably the most challenging part. Chest Freezers, apparently, aren't designed for people to crawl around it, let alone wield power tools.

I decided to use secondary regulators to run the ales, and initially I had 4 kegs up and running.