Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: San Diego water for Pale Ale  (Read 7078 times)

Offline patrickswayze

• Cellarman
San Diego water for Pale Ale
« on: May 21, 2012, 09:07:28 am »
Hi guys i am going to be brewing an American Pale Ale this weekend and want some comments/tips regarding the water profile im going to use. Im shooting for a balanced profile from this beer, not on the malty or the bitter side. Below is the breakdown of my water profile that il be using.

Calcium: 105
Magnesium: 12
Sodium: 45
Chloride: 173
Sulfate 150
Total Alkalinity: 60

It seemed to me that the chloride was a little high, but some people have told me it still falls within an accepted range and as long as it is relatively balanced with sulfate i should be good. Suggestions would be much appreciated, and also i am kind of new to water chemistry. Thanks

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: San Diego water for Pale Ale
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2012, 09:11:34 am »
First let me say I am so far from an expert on water chemistry that I can only see one by looking up Martin's profile. I would recommend, if you havn't already, downloading Martin's spreadsheet Bru'n water.

with that out of the way I think your water looks okay as is but if you are concerned with the chloride level you have room to cut it with RO or distilled water up to about 50% of the total volume without your calcium levels dropping to low. not sure about the pH, that's one of the areas that Bru'n water would help you out.
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein

"errors are [...] the portals of discovery"
- J Joyce

Offline kylekohlmorgen

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Saint Louis, MO
    • The South House Pilot Brewery
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2012, 10:00:28 am »