Author Topic: Brewer Bio: James Lafferty (not the actor)  (Read 9423 times)

Offline treffal

• 1st Kit
    • View Profile
Brewer Bio: James Lafferty (not the actor)
« on: May 24, 2012, 09:13:45 AM »
Who Are You (please include a picture): 

I’m James Lafferty, not the actor from One Tree Hill.   I’m a little off kilter.  I consider it a prerequisite for being a brewer.  I have a passion for brewing driven by creativity that motivates me to brew as many styles and unique beers that I can.  I work in the IT industry where I deal with upset customers day after day.  The most satisfying part of brewing for me is watching people enjoy what I have created.   My wife is the only upset customer when it comes to my beer, but she doesn’t like beer, so does she really count?

Last year I compiled my homebrewing story in a video for Sierra Nevada’s Beer Camp.  If the website is working, it can be viewed here: http://sierrabeercamp.com/#/view-entries/85

Check here to see what’s going on at the Lafferty Brewery: http://beerarmy.com/profile/JamesLafferty

I post most of my recipes here: http://hopville.com/brewer/treffal

Home Town (City, State):
Born in Illinois, raised in Florida, spent 6 years in Japan, now living in Jacksonville, NC

Homebrew Club: Beer Alchemists of Coastal Carolina (BAC²)

I've been a homebrewer since: April 17, 2010

Do you have a homebrewing disaster you'd like to share?
I brewed a ginger beer once. I needed keg space, so I filled a gallon growler to the brim with the ginger beer.  I placed it in the closet.  Before bed, I checked it and thought, “Will the CO2 expand and break the bottle as it warms? Nah.”  As I turned off my closet light I heard a loud pop followed by a rushing fizz.  When I turned on the light I saw the growler laying in pieces and ginger beer flowing off of the dresser onto my carpet and into the drawers where I had my clothes stored.   I spent the next 3 hours cleaning the mess and got to bed around 2 am.