Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: WLP670  (Read 12932 times)

Offline gmac

• Brewmaster General
  • London, Ontario
WLP670
« on: June 02, 2012, 07:34:30 pm »
I'm thinking about giving this yeast a try.  I really like making saisons and I have had great results with Wyeast 3711 French Saison.  I like how it finishes nice and dry and the flavour it gives.  I've never used the Dupont strain or any other strain.

But, I'm really intrigued by WLP670 for some reason.  I have no experience with Brett (I assume there is no Brett in 3711).  I know the basics (use different plastics, ferment in glass etc.) but I am a bit worried about introducing Brett.  I'm not really sure what I'm asking but if you've got any comments/recipe tips for using the 670, can you please pass them along.  For example, since the Brett eats more sugars than Sach, do I need to substitute sugar to get the beer nice and dry or will an all malt version end dry because of the Brett.

Please give me your thoughts on this yeast and given that I love 3711, do you think I'll be happy with this one?

Offline summy

• Cellarman
  • Roanoke, VA
    • Star City Brewers Guild
Re: WLP670
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2012, 06:51:50 am »
I used it for a"farmhouse ale", recipe was 2-row and red wheat from Valley Malts up in Maine, along with some aromatic.  For hops I used citra and saaz.  Also added coriander and bitter orange peel.  I mashed pretty low @ 147°.  I was aiming for a tropical fruity saison style beer and thats pretty much what I got.  I did leave it on the yeast for about 2 months.  If I'd have to say, the most noticeable thing from the brett is the tropical fruitiness, not necessarily alot of funk.

Sent from my SCH-I510 using Tapatalk 2
Fementing:
  *Primary -
  *Lagering -

On Tap
 *BPA
 *Denny's BVIP
 *Brunch Stout

In Bottles
 *IIPA
 *RyeIPA
 *Black IPA
 *Red IPA
 *White IPA (entered an all-IPA competition)
  *Kolsch

Offline rbowers