Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Jasmine Rice in a beer?  (Read 7616 times)

Offline hoser

• Brewmaster
Jasmine Rice in a beer?
« on: June 06, 2012, 09:21:53 am »
I am thinking of making a "Thai/Asian"-style saison paired with some traditional Thai spices.  I was thinking rather than just using sugar as a fermentable possibly using some jasmine rice.   I obviously would incorporate this with a cereal mash.  Just curious if anyone has used jasmine rice in a beer or at the very least used it in cooking?  I have limited experience with jasmine rice, in general, and I am just curious as to what I should expect (if anything)? Thanks.

Offline jmcamerlengo

• Brewmaster
Re: Jasmine Rice in a beer?
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2012, 09:23:38 am »
Its pretty standard rice. I wouldn't expect any flavor at all from it. But it will provide the fermentables you're talking about.
Jason
-Head Brewer, Brewtus Brewers in the Shenango Valley. Hopefully opening a brewpub/nano brewery in the next couple years.

Offline garc_mall

• Brewmaster
  • [1892.9, 294.9deg] AR Lynnwood, WA
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2012, 10:40:33 am »
I love jasmine rice in cooking, but I don't think the flavors would stand up in a beer. If you want to include rice for the novelty, and to keep with the Asian theme, it isn't going to hurt, I just don't think that flavor will make it into the finished beer. The Bruery makes a "Thai-inspired" Tripel called Trade Winds Tripel made with lime leaves and lemongrass, and that is very tasty. If I wanted to do a Thai type beer, I would go in that direction.

Offline hoser

• Brewmaster
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2012, 10:53:54 am »