Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Brew Suggestions  (Read 5978 times)

Offline t-bone

• 1st Kit
Brew Suggestions
« on: June 23, 2012, 07:19:39 am »
Hello everyone I'm new to this forum. 

I would like some opinions, advice, or just plain rantings and ravings on my brew method.  I’ve been brewing all grain for a couple of years and I’m trying to work on polishing my brewing skills.  Here’s a quick description of a brew day.

Water Treatment

Use RO water with one teaspoon of CaCo3, Gypsum, and phosphoric acid (in lieu of acidulated malt)

Mashing

Mill grain on motorized barley crusher stock setting

My defacto mash schedule is a three step mash at the following temps:
113 degree for 15 minutes
144 degree for 35 minutes
158 degree for 25 minutes
172 degree for 5 minutes
Mash out with 172 degree water.

I mix everything thoroughly at dough in and then don’t mix it again.  I use a sabco rims wizard for recirculating, maintain temps, and data logging.
Pump to boil kettle
At the conclusion of the boil I recirculate the wort with a tangential inlet for 15 min to whirlpool.
I then pump through an external hop filter to a plate chiller.
Pitch yeast starter (usually 1 liter from magnetic stirrer grown for about 6 hours)

Here are my questions.  Should I be mixing the mash tun more?  I don’t conduct an iodine test after mashing should I incorporate on?  I live in the desert southwest so summer brew days are usually in the triple digits.  Even with the plate chiller the lowest I can drop the wort temp is 78-80.  After pitching I move the carboy to a temp controlled chest freezer set at 65 (for ale strains).

Any recommendations or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

Pat

Offline cheba420

• Brewer
  • Can I get a beer up in here?
    • The Beer Research Institute
Re: Brew Suggestions
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2012, 10:33:11 am »
Pat,