Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Blueberries en masse  (Read 4452 times)

Offline jivetyrant

• Assistant Brewer
Blueberries en masse
« on: June 27, 2012, 06:04:01 am »
I have a beautiful tasting wheat that's just finished primary.  I plan to add 11lbs (eleven) of blueberries and am devising a plan to do so.  I see a few options, but am a little lost as I've never added this quantity of fruit to any previous batches!

I could cook it down, as you would when making a proper blueberry pie.  This would pasteurize it, but would probably necessitate adding some pectic enzyme to stave off excessive cloudiness.  (I already have some on-hand)

I could mash and chemically pasteurize it with sulfite or sorbate.  I've never done this before, my only experience with this was adding some campden tablets to a carboy before I dropped it off at a cider mill in town.  I have heard that the amount needed varies significantly with the pH of the fruit you are using.  I do not have a method to accurately determine pH.

I have heard that a hard freeze can take care of most of the offending little critters, but I don't know if that's true, or how long to freeze them for.  I have a chest freezer that sits at a comfortable -10F.

Or I could RDWHAHB and simply mash them up and rack on top. 

Thoughts and suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Offline phillamb168

• Brewmaster General
  • Lardy, France
    • My Job
Re: Blueberries en masse
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2012, 07:00:23 am »
Freezing blueberries (supposedly!) makes them sweeter. Could be interesting to freeze them into blocks and then drop those into the carboy.
I'm on twitter: phillamb168
----
morticaixavier for governing committee!

Offline gmac

• Brewmaster General
  • London, Ontario
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2012, 07:06:41 am »
I definitely wouldn't cook them.  Like you mentioned, you'll have to deal with all those pectins if you do.
I'd just freeze them and add them.