Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Carawheat malt  (Read 3916 times)

Offline rbowers

• Assistant Brewer
Carawheat malt
« on: July 19, 2012, 12:05:25 pm »
Tuning up a raspberry wheat recipe and while I like the raspberry flavor it seems a bit unbalanced towards the tartness mostly contributed by the raspberries.  The malt right now is 6lb white wheat, 4lb 2 row, 0.5 lb Munich.  I've never used carawheat before but was curious if it could add just a touch of sweetness and body to balance out the raspberries.  If so any suggestions on amount? .33 lb ?  Not sure if upping the mash temp a bit would provide the same effect- currently at 151F x 60min

Offline Pi

• Brewer
  • "I would never trade tomorrow for today"
Re: Carawheat malt
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2012, 12:51:28 pm »
I am doing a little experimenting using fruit extracts in a wheat right now. I fermented on the high side (~72* for wyeast 3638) which will favor the fruity ester production.  after fermentation I added a pound of lactose to the 12 gallon batch . The lactose doesnt have any fermentables and it is my intention to give it a little more sweetness without adding malt flavor. after about a day or two at 35, I'll add my extract and FC.
Primary:On Reflection APA
Lagering: Vienna
Drinking: Whenever I'm not working or driving

Offline mabrungard

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Water matters!
    • Bru'n Water
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2012, 03:10:12 pm »
i'm not sure I would go in the direction of adding sweetness builders or unfermentables.  I agree that raspberry can be quite tart, but it can also deliver a good dose of tannin if unstrained fruit solids are added to the beer.  The seeds are the source. 

I'm curious if either of you had the opportunity to taste the base beer before adding the fruit or flavoring?  Since its unlikely that the base beer was too tart to begin with, I'll assume that all the tartness came from the fruit.