Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Immersion chiller question  (Read 5080 times)

Offline fblair

• 1st Kit
Immersion chiller question
« on: July 30, 2012, 05:01:04 pm »
Greetings all.

I've been doing this thing for about 8 months now and had some really good beers come out of it - won a homebrew "people's choice" competition at work last week with a dark lager; pretty jazzed about that.

I haven't paid close attention to how long it takes to chill down the wort until this last weekend.  I did another batch (5gal) of dark lager and it took right at an hour with the immersion chiller running with strong flow throughout and with the kettle sitting on/in an ice bath to help speed it up.  I've been using the IC since my second batch back in January (the first one I just sat on ice and allowed to chill on it's own.)

My questions are these:
-- Is 1 hour normal for IC chilling?  I'd expect it to be in the 30-ish minute range.
-- The water coming out of the IC was cold.  I'd think with good heat transfer it'd be at least room temperature, it not warmer... especially at first.
-- The water is coming from a tap and coming out at full flow.  I'm wondering if the water isn't spending enough time to pick up heat transfer on the way through the chiller and I should back off the pressure.
-- I haven't tried chilling the chiller before submersion.
-- I picked up an immersible pump so I could recirculate ice water through the chiller.  That'd save on the water bill for sure but it seems like if it's working properly the water temp would drop over time.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
- Frank

Offline weithman5

• Senior Brewmaster
  • naperville, il
Re: Immersion chiller question
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2012, 05:15:45 pm »
Greetings all.