Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Sam Adams Noble Pils clone  (Read 9755 times)

Offline jgourd

• 1st Kit
Sam Adams Noble Pils clone
« on: February 12, 2010, 03:49:11 pm »
So I tried this beer a while back at their R&D brewery and I loved it.  Trying to clone it.  A 5-gal recipe sounds great.  From their web site, we find that they use 2-row Harrington, Metcalfe, and Czech pilsner malts.  And for the hops, the typical Noble variety: Hallertau Mittelfruh, Tettnang Tattnanger, Spalt Spalter, Saaz, and Hallertau Hersbrucker.  No idea how to partition the grain or when the hops get added in the boil.  As you can probably tell, I'm fairly new to this.  But, I've hacked a first recipe.  Anyone care to steer me in the right direction?  Thanks!

Batch Size: 5.50 gal
Estimated OG: 1.049 SG (matches the web site)
Estimated FG: 1.011 SG
Estimated ABV: 5.04 % (web site is 5.2%)
Estimated Color: 4.1 SRM
Estimated IBU: 41.4 IBU
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
9.00 lb Pilsner (2 Row) Ger (2.0 SRM)             Grain   92.31 %
0.50 lb Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM)            Grain    5.13 %
0.25 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt - 20L (20.0 SRM)     Grain    2.56 %
0.75 oz Tettnang [4.50 %] (60 min)                Hops    11.5 IBU
1.00 oz Spalter [4.50 %] (60 min)                 Hops    15.3 IBU
0.75 oz Hallertauer Mittelfrueh [4.00 %] (15 min) Hops     5.1 IBU
1.00 oz Hallertauer Hersbrucker [4.00 %] (15 min) Hops     6.8 IBU
1.00 oz Saaz [4.00 %] (5 min)                     Hops     2.7 IBU
1 Pkg Czech Budejovice Lager (White Labs #WLP802)

Thanks!
--
JGourd

Offline babalu87

• Brewmaster
  • Grand Brewbah
Re: Sam Adams Noble Pils clone
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2010, 06:09:09 am »