Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Malt Analysis  (Read 5574 times)

Offline CB-Illinois

• Cellarman
Malt Analysis
« on: August 11, 2012, 05:59:18 pm »
Hi all,

Got a question for you.  I am new to all grain brewing and an trying to approach this very scientificly.  Today I purchased 9 types of 2-row and 6-row base malted barley and made teas out of 2 oz of each to test each type of grain the way Denny described in a Zymergy article a few months back.  I made notes and will be posting them Monday.

I am also reading Greg Noonan's New Brewing Lager Beer and am also trying to teach myself to look at malted barley and judge if it is well suited for making beer.  I have 4 types of Rohr 6 row and 2 row barley and the endosperm is white and kind of hard.  Noonan says tha thard greyish white malt isnot suited for brewing, is that what I am seeing.  Anyone else taken a look at Rohr malt and decided if the malts are usually mealy or glassy?

Thanks for your help!

Offline tubercle

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Sweet Caroline
Re: Malt Analysis
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2012, 06:10:23 pm »
The Tubercle just brews and enjoys life.

No time for such thoughts.

Good luck in your endevors.
Sweet Caroline where the Sun rises over the deep blue sea and sets somewhere beyond Tennessee

Offline Kaiser

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Imperial Brewing Geek
    • braukaiser.com
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2012, 06:25:05 pm »
Do you mean Rahr malt?

How long is the acrospire compared to the length of the kernel? You may have to steep the uncrushed malt to see the acrospire.

Kai

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2012, 06:53:47 pm »
This may or may not help. Noonan again.

http://morebeer.com/brewingtechniques/bmg/noonan.html
Jeff Rankert
AHA Lifetime Member
BJCP National
Ann Arbor Brewers Guild
Home-brewing, not just a hobby, it is a lifestyle!

Offline nateo

• Brewmaster General