Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Black Forest Stout truncated  (Read 7415 times)

Offline skrag6713

• Cellarman
Black Forest Stout truncated
« on: August 13, 2012, 03:12:08 pm »
so i started brewing the black forest stout recipe from Brewing Classic Styles.  it's been fermenting for about a week now and i figured it was about time to go get the cherries to add to secondary.  problem being that cherries are out of season now and even frozen ones are relatively expensive for my budget atm.

so my question is: has anyone tried this recipe sans cherries?  the stout recipe looked good enough to stand on its own, but will i need anything to balance out the chocolate?  after dropping $60 on this batch already, i'm not really interested in dropping another $20-$30 on cherries.  any inexpensive fixes are welcome!

Offline kgs

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Sonoma County, CA
Re: Black Forest Stout truncated
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2012, 08:56:58 pm »
The one cherry stout I tried a couple years back (Bell's) I didn't like. And I realized afterwards I don't like cherries in any beer, period (though I do like cherries). So I am biased, but as far as I am concerned, it's like leaving out okra in just about any recipe, including fried okra... it can only be improved.

How does it taste? Do you like it? I made an oatmeal stout last winter flavored with a cold water extract of french roast coffee and a vodka extract of organic cocoa nibs, and it was deeeeeelish. Maybe the coffee is enough, but a little cocoa, a little vanilla... you can have fun with stout. It goes well with those warm dessert flavors. And at a fraction of the cost of out-of-season berries.

K.G. Schneider
AHA Member

Offline cheshirecat

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2012, 10:51:01 am »
I am planning to brew this one next month, excited too see how it turns out since cherry beers have been hit and miss with me.