Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: rice hulls  (Read 4958 times)

Offline BrewQwest

• Cellarman
rice hulls
« on: February 15, 2010, 07:13:31 am »
I tried a search on the topic but only came up with a thread in all grain for malt conditioning. I apologize if this has been asked before.  I am still rather new to all graining..I made a 10 gallon batch of wheat beer and had no idea how much rice hulls to place into it. I ended up dumping in a pound to alleviate the visions of stuck sparges dancing in my head.  Wow.. talk about my grain absorption rate going through the roof (didn't know at the time I should have presoaked them).   :o ..Two questions, would this much rice hulls have lead to a slight "greyish tinge" in the final color of my wheat?  It still tastes great..  and just how much rice hulls is enough?  Would an amount eqivalent to 1 ounce per pound of hull-less grain be appropriate?  thanks all....
On a never-ending journey for the perfect pint of beer...

Offline babalu87

• Brewmaster
  • Grand Brewbah
Re: rice hulls
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2010, 07:41:09 am »
Its best to soak the rice hulls in water first, preferably at around the same temp as your mash.

Jeff

On draught:
IIPA, Stout, Hefeweizen, Hallertau Pale Ale, Bitter

Primary:
Hefeweizen,Berliner Weisse, Mead

Offline hamiltont

• Brewmaster
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2010, 08:39:41 am »
I usually don't measure them and just use a couple handfuls per a 5 gallon batch.  As babalu87 mentioned. Soak them in water before adding to the mash.  Not sure about the "greyish tinge" thing???
If Homebrew & BBQ aren't the answer, then you're askin' the wrong questions... Cheers!!!

Offline beersk

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • In the night!
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2010, 11:41:49 am »
Its best to soak the rice hulls in water first, preferably at around the same temp as your mash.