Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: I'd like to make a Stroch Stottish Ale for winter, need some help.  (Read 3747 times)

Offline rjparjay

• 1st Kit
So I really haven't settled on a recipe yet, I've just started thinking about this one but I've never done anything similar. I've also never done a big beer before.

So my first question is how much smoked malt should I use? I've never used it before but I figured 5% would be safe. I don't want it to be too peated like an Islay but a bit smoother.

Second was it says it should be a bit caramelized so I was thinking about doing a 2hr boil but I'm not sure if that is long enough.

Last, I've never done a beer higher that 1.065 so I was thinking of making a large starter, a lot of oxygenation, double the yeast nutrient, and then maybe after the first 4 or 5 days or so more oxygenation unless you think this is unnecessary.

I was thinking of aging this in my better bottle until maybe november, I think the plastic will be ok for a couple months, but if you think glass is necessary I could be persuaded.

Thanks a lot, you guys are really helpful!

EDIT: Here is the first draft of the recipe http://www.brewtoad.com/recipes/its-not-a-dress-its-a-kilt
« Last Edit: August 29, 2012, 11:19:32 am by rjparjay »

Offline garc_mall

• Brewmaster
  • [1892.9, 294.9deg] AR Lynnwood, WA
Re: I'd like to make a Stroch Stottish Ale for winter, need some help.
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2012, 08:28:00 pm »
http://www.skotrat.com/skotrat/recipes/ale/scottish/recipes/10.html

This is your friend, read it, follow it, love it.

It has all your answers. No smoked malt. Definitely no peat malt, unless you want to see Tom cry.

Offline rjparjay

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2012, 08:48:17 pm »
That's a great link! I was under the impression the peat/smoke came from smoked malt but it looks like it comes from the yeast. It's such a simple malt bill too, thanks a lot!

Offline mihalybaci