Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Fusel alcohols  (Read 11171 times)

Offline andrew000141

• Assistant Brewer
Fusel alcohols
« on: October 01, 2012, 10:25:58 am »
I have been reading through yeast by Chris white and I was reading about Fusel alcohols which is an area I have Limited knowledge in. Almost all my beers have a "hot" alcohol taste, even the low gravity ones. I've always attributed this to me using extract and assumed it would go away when I jumped to allgrain(almost there). In the book he mentioned hot fermentation temperatures can make some hot alcohol flavors and I ferment at 66(coldest room in my house) would this be the culprit of my hot alcohol flavors?
Fermenting:
Cherry melomel

In Kegs:
Saison
Irish Red
Thanksgiving Cider
Rye Pale Ale
IIPA
Ayinger Maibock clone
Moose drool clone

Bottles:
Mead

Keep your nose out of trouble and no trouble will come to you

Offline Kaiser

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Imperial Brewing Geek
    • braukaiser.com
Re: Fusel alcohols
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2012, 10:38:57 am »
Yes, excessive higher alcohols can be caused by warm fermentation. What matters is the temperature of the fermenting beer and not the ambient temperature. At 66 F ambient, an active fermentation can easily raise the beer temperature into the low 70s. Coupled with a strain that is prone to producing lots of higher alcohols you'll end up with this hot alcohol tatste.

The good thing is that it will age out.

For your future beers I suggest placing them at least in a tub of water. The larger thermal mass will limit the rise in temperature.

It's only the temperature during active fermentation that matters for fusel and ester production. Towards the end of the fermentation the yeast doesn't grow anymore and doesn't consume amino acids. As a result the pathways that lead to esters and fusels are not active anymore.

Kai

Offline bluesman

• I must live here
  • Delaware