Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Poland?  (Read 5687 times)

coastsidemike

Poland?
« on: November 03, 2012, 01:19:39 pm »
The latest issue of Zymurgy has a great, great article on Grodziskie.  On my last trip through Poland (mostly through rural areas), I didn't find this.  Anyone know where to expect to find it beyond where it is made or if it is imported?

I'm no expert, just a random traveler.  The best I could find was on tap, Okocim.  The Polish do meats and mushrooms very well, and pairing anything like that with Okocim was great (and notably inexpensive; $2 a liter).

A question is what are craft or BJCP beer judges looking for in good Pilsners.  Most of the pilsner beers there were advertised as award winning, but if it was good it was also quite green. This meant huge yeast aromas, much more than I've ever noticed before.  I'm wondering if that is desirable or simply different from the beers sent to contests.   

Would love to find something like either one of these in the US.

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
Re: Poland?
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2012, 02:00:22 pm »
Graetzer (in German) pretty much went out of style. Choc brewing in Oklahoma made one recently, using oak smoked wheat malt that they convinced Weyermanns to make. I think if you look the article over closely, it says it is not made anymore in Poland.
Jeff Rankert
AHA Lifetime Member
BJCP National
Ann Arbor Brewers Guild
Home-brewing, not just a hobby, it is a lifestyle!

coastsidemike

« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2012, 04:26:32 pm »
I think if you look the article over closely, it says it is not made anymore in Poland.

Missed that, thanks for the correction.

Offline bluesman

• I must live here
  • Delaware
Poland?
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2012, 07:08:55 pm »