Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: New to brewing  (Read 6064 times)

Offline rdbobonis

• 1st Kit
New to brewing
« on: November 06, 2012, 03:24:29 pm »
Hello all!!  I just started brewing this week and am hoping to be doing it properly.  I got a kit as a present from some friends and just brewed my first batch of American Amber Ale.  I'm using a beginner's kit from "Brewer's Best" and their recipie kit/ingredients etc.  I finished everything and put it in the fermenting bucket Sunday night.  By Monday morning it was bubbling a little.  Now today no bubbles at all.  I have been searching about this and mostly found that 1. it's not a big deal if not bubbling, 2. I should get a measurement with the hydrometer(which I'm not sure about) will opening the bucket to measure do any damage to the "beer" that is in the bucket?  The recipie states to let it sit for 4-6 days....is this the right amount of time? 

I know being new I'll have a lot more questions.  Thank you all in advance!

;)

Offline blatz

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Paul Blatz - Jupiter, FL
Re: New to brewing
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2012, 03:28:17 pm »
what is the temperature where you are fermenting? 

what was the temperature of the wort when you pitched your yeast?

if it was warm (>72df) your beer may be mostly done fermenting by now.

hydrometer reading is going to be your best indication.

welcome to the board and the obsession hobby
The happiest people don’t necessarily have the best of everything; they just make the best of everything they have.

BJCP National: F0281

Offline anje

• Assistant Brewer
  • Lafayette, IN
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2012, 03:35:28 pm »
Probably not a big deal -- the buckets don't always seal up well enough that the CO2 being produced has to go out the airlock.