Other than Brewing > All Things Food

2 briskets on the BGE cooking time?

(1/9) > >>

gmac:
We're having a party this weekend and I'm gonna do a brisket on the egg.  But, I think I'm gonna have to do two for the number of people that are expected so I'm asking.  Does the final cooking time matter if you do two versus one?  I know a single 20 lb piece of meat would take much longer than a 10 lb piece but in this case, it's 2 - 10 lbs pieces laid side by side.  My thoughts are that it wouldn't matter but does anyone have experience to the contrary?

My plan is to put them on at 11 pm Friday at 225-250 and plan for about an hour per lb.  That gives me a lot of extra time in case I need more plus time to rest.  I've heard everything from 45 minutes to 1.5 hours per lb depending on the source but I've never done this much meat at once before.

Thanks

euge:
I think you'll be fine with two briskets on the egg. They'll shrink a bit so if you have to overlap them initially that certainly won't be a problem. Fat-side down of course and when you hit the stall I'd foil them- which will save you at least three hours. You can even remove them once foiled and finish in the oven if you have the space there. Then wrap in towels and rest in a cooler until the internal temp drops to about 150 or less.

I'd budget up to 1.5 hours per pound @ 250 if you don't foil. Good-luck and don't forget to take some pics so we all can enjoy...

gmac:
Tell me more about the "stall" and foiling please.
I was going to go until the Thermapen said 185, pull them off and remove the points for burnt ends and then foil+towel wrap them and into the cooler to rest for however long I had to spare (figured a couple hours). 

Do you sauce your brisket or leave it unsauced?  I've had both and I'm not sure what to do.  I have sauce so I may do both.

euge:
Sauce on the side. Always.