General Category > Beer Recipes

What do you think of this Coffeehouse Porter?

(1/5) > >>

The SWMBO loves Berkshire Brewing Coffeehouse Porter. I'm trying to make something similar. I get lots of coffee flavor and a wee bit of chocolate. Not really chewy or sweet but I'm gonna go in that direction anyway. It looks busy but I want to use up some malts (de-bittered black, CSIII). Not really married to the hops. I have tons of others that I could use. I'm thinking the RB, Coffee Malt and Pale Chocolate will give plenty of coffee/mocha flavor on it's own. Don't want a lot of harsh bitterness from the roasted/black malts. Would like the coffee bitterness to come through. Since I'm only at 3.3% dark malts, I'm using some C150 to get color and a bit more roastiness. Milk sugar is for a little sweetness. I've never used coffee or cocoa nibs before. I plan on adding 1# of coarse ground coffee after flameout and steep for 2-3 minutes (before chilling). I'll put the nibs in secondary. Anyway your thoughts:

Coffeehouse Coffee Porter (15 gal)
28 lbs Pale Ale Malt (1.8 SRM) 81.2 %
1 lbs 8.0 oz Chocolate Malt, Pale (225.0 SRM) 4.3 %
1 lbs 2.0 oz Kiln Coffee Malt (165.0 SRM) 3.3 %
1 lbs Caramel/Crystal Malt - 60L (60.0 SRM) 2.9 %
1 lbs Crystal, Extra Dark (150.0 SRM) 2.9 %
6.0 oz Roasted Barley_300L (300.0 SRM) 1.1 %
6.0 oz Carafa Special III (470.0 SRM) 1.1 %
3.0 oz Black Barley (Stout) (500.0 SRM) 0.5 %
3.0 oz Black Malt, De-Bittered (550.0 SRM) 0.5 %
12.0 oz Milk Sugar (Lactose) (0.0 SRM) 2.2 %
1.00 lb Coffee (Boil 0.0 mins)

3.00 oz Challenger [5.60 %] - First Wort 60.0 min 22.1 IBUs
1.50 oz Perle-2012 [10.30 %] - Boil 30.0 min 11.5 IBUs
1.50 oz Willamette [5.60 %] - Boil 0.0 min 0.0 IBUs
3.0 pkg SafAle English Ale (Fermentis #S-04)

6.00 oz Cocoa Nibs (Ghana) (Secondary 7.0 days)

Original Gravity: 1.064
Final Gravity: 1.016
Bitterness: 33.6 IBUs
Color: 31.3 SRM